Everything You Need To Know About The Headies Award 2023

The Headies Awards is an annual music award ceremony that recognizes outstanding achievements in the Nigerian music industry. The awards were founded in 2006 by Ayo Animashaun, the CEO of HipTV. The Headies Awards are considered to be one of the most prestigious music awards in Nigeria.

The 16th Headies Awards took place on Sunday, September 3, 2023, at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Center in Atlanta, Georgia. The awards ceremony was hosted by Osas Ighodaro and Terrence J. Burna Boy led the nominations with 11 nominations, followed by Rema with 9 nominations. The biggest winners of the night were Rema and Burna Boy, who each took home 3 awards. Other notable winners included Wizkid, Davido, Ayra Starr, Asake and Omah Lay. The event was also marked by the induction of Angelique Kidjo into the Headies Hall of Fame.

Full List Of The Headies Award 2023 Nomination And Winners

  • Hall of Fame

WINNER: Youssou N’dour

  • Special Recognition

WINNER: Sound Sultan

  • International Artiste Recognition Award

WINNER: Sean “Love” Combs

  • International Artist of the Year

WINNER: Selena Gomez



Don Toliver

Ed Sheeran

  • Album of the Year

WINNER: Mr Money With the Vibe – Asake

Love, Damini – Burna Boy

Rave And Roses – Rema

Boy Alone – Omah Lay

Outlaw – Victony

Timeless – Davido

  • Song of the Year

WINNER: “Last Last” – Burna Boy

“Calm Down” – Rema

“Ku Lo Sa” – Oxlade

“Buga” – Kizz Daniel & Tekno

“Finesse” – Pheelz Ft. Bnxn

“Sungba Remix” – Asake Ft. Burna Boy

  • Best Female Artiste

WINNER: Ayra Starr



Tiwa Savage

  • Best Male Artiste



Kizz Daniel


Omah Lay

Burna Boy

  • Rookie of the Year

WINNER: Odumodublvck




Bloody Civilian

Eltee Skhillz

  • Best Recording of the Year

WINNER: “Soweto” by Victony & Tempoe

“Alone” – Burna Boy

“I’m A Mess” – Omah Lay

“Ku Lo Sa” – Oxlade

“Stand Strong” – Davido Ft. Sunday Service Choir

“No Woman, No Cry” – Tems

  • Producer of the Year

WINNER: Rexxie – “Abracadabra” (Rexxie, Naira Marley, Skiibii & Wizkid)

Magicsticks – “Sungba Remix” (Asake)

P.Prime, Tmxo & Pheelz – “Electricty” (Pheelz Ft Davido)

Andre Vibez & London – “Calm Down” (Rema)

Tempoe – “Soweto” (Victony & Tempoe)

Kel-P – “Kpe Paso” (Wande Coal & Olamide)

  • Songwriter of the Year

WINNER: Simi Kosoko, Godsfavour Chidozie, Kosoko Adekunle, Marcel Akunwata – “Loyal” (Simi)

Stanley Didia, Adebajo Adebanjo – “I’m A Mess” (Omah Lay)

Tems, Ludwig Goransson, Robyn Rihanna Fenty, Ryan Coogler – “Lift Me Up” (Rihanna)

Damini Ebunoluwa Ogulu, Austin Jnr Iornongu Iwar, Peace Oredope, Ludwig Goransson – “Alone” (Burna Boy)

Daniel Benson “In My Mind” (Bnxn)

Fuayefika Maxwell – Earth Song (Wizard Chan)

  • Best R&B Single

WINNER: “For My Hand” – Burna Boy Ft. Ed Sheeran

“Mmadu” – Ckay

“Just 4 U” – Dami Oniru

“Red Wine” – Preye

“Hard To Find” – Chike – Ft. Flavour

“Loyal” – Simi Ft. Fave

  • Best Rap Single

WINNER: “Declan Rice” – Odumodublvck

“Hustle” – Reminisce

“Big Energy” – Ladipoe

“Back In Uni” – Blaqbonez

“Bando Diaries” – Psychoyp

“My Bro” – Jeriq Ft. Phyno

  • Best Alternative Song

WINNER: “Earth Song” – Wizard Chan

“Final Champion” – Cruel Santino

“The Traveller” – Basketmouth Ft The Cavemen

“In A Loop” – Boj Ft Moliy & Mellissa

“Game Changer” (Dike) – Flavour

“Tinko Tinko” – Obongjayar

  • Best Vocal Performance (Female)

WINNER: Waje – “In Between“

Niniola – “Memories”

Simi – “Loyal”

Liya – “Adua Remix”

Preye – “Red Wine”

Dami Oniru – “Just 4 U”

  • Best Vocal Performance (Male)

WINNER: Wande Coal – “Kpe Paso”

Oxlade – “Ku Lo Sa”

Ric Hassani – “My Only Baby”

Magixx – “Love Don’t Cost A Dime”

Chike – “Spell Remix”

Praiz – “Reckless”

  • Best Music Video

WINNER: Director K – “Calm Down” (Rema)

Blaqbonez & Perliks – “Back In Uni” (Blaqbonez)

Tg Omori – “Pbuy” (Asake)

Director Pink– “Spell Remix” (Chike & Oxlade)

Tg Omori – “Bandana” (Fireboy & Asake)

Director K – “Common Person” (Burna Boy)

  • Best Collaboration

WINNER: Spyro Ft. Tiwa Savage – “Who’s Your Guy Remix”

Asake Ft. Burna Boy – “Sungba Remix”

Bnxn Ft. Kizz Daniel & Seyi Vibez – “Gwagwalada”

Pheelz Ft. Bnxn – “Finesse”

Pheelz Ft. Davido – “Electricity”

Wande Coal Ft. Olamide – “Kpe Paso”

  • Best Street-Hop Artiste

WINNER: Seyi Vibez – “Chance (Na Ham)”

Rexxie Ft. Naira Marley & Skiibii – “Abracadabra”

Asake – “Joha”

Zlatan Ft. Young Jonn – “Astalavista”

Poco Lee & Hotkid – “Otilo”

Mohbad – “Peace”

  • Afrobeats Single of the Year

WINNER: “Last Last” – Burna Boy

“Rush” – Ayra Starr

“Buga” – Kizz Daniel & Tekno

“Finesse” – Pheelz Ft Bnxn

“Who’s Your Guy?” – Spyro

“Asiwaju” – Ruger

  • Headies’ Viewers’ Choice

WINNER: Victony & Tempoe – “Soweto”

Ruger – “Asiwaju”

Fireboy Dml & Asake – “Bandana”

Ayra Star – “Rush”

Asake – “Terminator”

Mavins – “Overloading (Overdose)”

Crayon – “Ijo (Laba Laba)”

Oxlade – “Ku Lo Sa”

Kizz Daniel & Tekno – “Buga”

Pheelz & Davido – “Electricity”

  • Best West African Artiste of the Year

­WINNER: Black Sherif (Ghana)

Gyakie (Ghana)

The Therapist (Liberia)

Camidoh (Ghana)

  • Best East African Artiste of the Year

WINNER: Diamond Platinumz



Eddy Kenzo

Hewan Gebreworld

  • Best North African Artiste of the Year

WINNER: El Grande Toto – Morocco

Marwa Loud – Morocco

Wegz – Egypt

Soolking – Algeria

  • Best Southern African Artiste of the Year

WINNER: Focalistic – South Africa

Aka (South Africa)

Nasty C – South Africa

Costa Titch – South Africa

Uncle Waffles – South Africa

Dj Tarico – Mozambique

  • Best Central African Artiste of the Year

WINNER: Libianca – Cameroon

Fally Ipupa – Democratic Republic of Congo

Gaz Mawete – Democratic Republic of Congo

Matias Damasio – Angola

Emma’a – Gabon

  • Best R&B Album

WINNER: The Brother’s Keeper – Chike

Home – Johnny Drille

Reckless – Praiz

Waje 2.0 – Waje

Matter of Time – Dami Oniru

To Be Honest (Tbh) – Simi

  • Best Alternative Album

WINNER: Gbagada Express – BOJ

Horoscopes – Basketmouth

Some Nights I Dream of Doors – Obongjayar

Subaru Boys: Final Heaven – Cruel Santino

Heart of the Heavenly Undeniable – Somadina

Native World – Native Sound System

  • Best Rap Album

WINNER: Young Preacher – Blaqbonez

Fly Talk Only – Payper Corleone

Palmwine Music Vol 3 – Show Dem Camp

Ypszn3 – Psychoyp

Teslim: The Energy Still Lives in Me – Vector

Billion Dollar Dream – Jeriq

  • Next Rated


Young Jonn

Seyi Vibez



  • African Artiste of the Year

WINNER: Rema (Nigeria)

Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Marwa Loud (Morocco)

Black Sherif (Ghana)

Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

  • Lyricist on the Roll

WINNER: Payper Corleone – “Fly Talk Only”

Ladipoe – “Clowns”

Vector – “Clowns”

Alpha Ojini – “Vigilante Bop”

A-Q – “Family First”

Tec (Sdc) – “Live Life”

  • Best Inspirational Single

WINNER: “Eze Ebube” – Neon Adejo

“Stand Strong” – Davido Ft Sunday Service Choir

“Jireh (My Provider)” – Limoblaze, Lecrae & Happi Music

“This Year” – Victor Thompson & Ehis ‘D’ Greatest

“Tobechukwu” – Nathaniel Bassey And Mercy Chinwo

“I Get Backing” – Victoria Orenze

  • Digital Artiste of the Year


Burna Boy

Ayra Starr

Omah Lay

Kizz Daniel




Other related posts:

Share This Post: There is love in sharing😊🧡 , if  you think this post can be helpful to somebody else, please share it using the buttons below!